(Jer. 18: 9-10)   And at what instant I shall speak concerning a nation, and concerning a kingdom, to build and to plant it; If it do evil in my sight, that it obey not my voice, then I will repent of the good, wherewith I said I would benefit them.

Then will I repent of the good.

  • I will take away mine own, and be gone; {#Ho 2:9}
  • “curse their blessings,” {#Mal 2:2} and
  • “destroy them after that I have done them good”; {as #Jos 24:20}

and all this, whether for the better or for the worse to a nation, God usually doth on the sudden.

“At what instant,” &c. Mercies, the more unexpected, the more welcome; judgments, the more sudden, the more direful they are.

***

The picture: Utrecht, Master of Catherine of Cleves, Lieven van Lathem (illuminators)Manuskript, Book of Hours/ Livre d’heures/ Stundenbuch; Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum (MMW), Den Haag; Ms. 10 F 50, fol. 6r

Lesender Fuchs mit klerikaler Kopfbedeckung

