I have trodden the winepress alone; and of the people there was none with me: for I will tread them in mine anger, and trample them in my fury; and their blood shall be sprinkled upon my garments, and I will stain all my raiment. (Isaiah 63:4)

Stain my raiment.” Heb., Pollute it; for other blood polluteth, {#1,  2} but “the blood of Jesus Christ cleanseth us from all sin.” {#3}

Scriptures:

  1. For your hands are defiled with blood, and your fingers with iniquity; your lips have spoken lies, your tongue hath muttered perverseness. (Isa. 59:3)
  2. They have wandered as blind men in the streets, they have polluted themselves with blood, so that men could not touch their garments. (Lam. 4:14)
  3. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin. (1Jo. 1:7)
The painting: Paolo Veronese, The Conversion of Mary Magdalene
