Yea, the stork in the heaven knoweth her appointed times; and the turtle and the crane and the swallow observe the time of their coming; but my people know not the judgment of the Lord.   How do ye say, We are wise, and the law of the Lord is with us? Lo, certainly in vain made he it; the pen of the scribes is in vain. (Jeremiah 8:Ver. 7-8).

How do ye say, We are wise?” If ye were so, ye would never say so.

“Surely I am more brutish than any man,” said holy Agur. {#Pr 30:2}

This only I know, that I know nothing, said Socrates.

Neither know I so much as this, that I know just nothing, said a third.

How could these in the text say, “We are wise,” when the fowls of the air outwitted them? Compare with “But none saith, Where is God my maker, who giveth songs in the night; Who teacheth us more than the beasts of the earth, and maketh us wiser than the fowls of heaven?” (Job 35:11).

The picture: “Sabine’s Snipe”, from A History of British Birds, a book by Thomas Bewick,added to later editions, was described by Vigors in 1825.

