O Lord, are not thine eyes upon the truth?

thou hast stricken them, but they have not grieved;

thou hast consumed them, but they have refused to receive correction:

they have made their faces harder than a rock; they have refused to return.

Jeremiah 5:3

Thou hast stricken them, but they have not grieved. As being “past feeling,” of a dead and dedolent disposition; like naughty boys, which are the worse for a whipping; or Solomon’s drunkard, who is beaten, but never the better. {1} There is no surer sign of a carnal Israelite, of a profligate professor, than to be senseless or incorrigible under public judgments.

Scriptures:

  1. They have stricken me, shalt thou say, and I was not sick;
    they have beaten me, and I felt it not:
    when shall I awake? I will seek it yet again. Prov. 23:35

 

The painting: King Lear and the Fool in the Storm, by William Dyce